| Skip to main content | Skip to navigation |

Register Now!

Refereed Track: E* Applications: E-Commerce, E-Business, E-Science, E-Learning, and E-Communities

Internet and Web technologies enable new kinds of applications, usually prefixed with a capital "E" as in E-Commerce, E-Business, E-Learning, E-Science or E-Communities. Such applications are often innovative in their use of these technologies, and support or require new work, learning, or business scenarios. Furthermore, focusing on these E* Applications leads to new requirements as well as to interesting new technologies or extensions of existing ones.

The E* Applications Track, new to WWW in 2006 (but unifying and broadening previous WWW tracks in each of E-commerce, education, and applications), provides a unique forum both for describing innovative E* applications and scenarios as well as innovative technologies for these areas. We welcome both studies relating to specific classes of E-Applications and to cross-cutting issues. Relevant topics include, but are not restricted to, the following:

  • Service architectures — distributed Web services; web service technologies for e-Applications; embedded Web applications; Web standards for E* applications; data protection, security and privacy; ubiquitous computing and internet appliances; recommendation, reputation, and trust systems; computational markets for information services
  • Data management — distributed and peer-to-peer-based learning and e-science repositories; scientific metadata and annotation management; intellectual property and digital rights management; data and workflow provenance for e-Science; scientific data quality and data cleaning
  • Web-based collaboration and communities — collaboration and communities in web-based educational environments; E-Learning and E-Science community portals; synchronous collaboration applications and services; enterprise collaboration tools;
  • Web-based workflows — scientific workflows and process automation; automated shopping, trading, and contract management; supply chains, coalitions, and virtual enterprises; web-based problem-solving environments for e-Science
  • Ontologies and the semantic web — semantic Web and ontologies for E* applications; ontology-based data integration and analysis; languages for describing goods, services and contracts; ontologies for e-Science; conceptual modeling and knowledge represention for e-Science
  • Data processing and visualization — data mining, analysis, and statistics in e-Science; scientific visualization and e-Science
  • Experience Reports and case studies for E* applications

Accepted Papers

Ian Pascal Volz
John Debenham
Simeon Simoff
Ding Zhou
Eren Manavoglu
Jia Li
C. Lee Giles
Hongyuan Zha
Vladimir Soroka
Sheizaf Rafaeli
Vaclav Petricek
Tobias Escher
Ingemar J. Cox
Helen Margetts
Elizabeth Brown
Tim Brailsford
Tony Fisher
Adam Moore
Helen Ashman
K. Faith Lawrence
mc schraefel
Satya S. Sahoo
Christopher Thomas
Amit Sheth
William S. York
Samir Tartir
Mingyu Feng
Neil T. Heffernan
Kenneth R. Koedinger
Nominated for Best Student Paper Award


  • Mark Manasse (Microsoft Research)
  • Deputy Chair Bertram Ludaescher (UC Davis)
  • Deputy Chair Wolfgang Nejdl (L3S and University of Hannover)
  • Email: www2006-estar-chairs@www2006.org

PC Members

  • J├╝rgen Angele, (Ontoprise)
  • Lora Aroyo, (Eindhoven University of Technology)
  • Helen Ashman, (University of Nottingham)
  • Wolf-Tilo Balke, (L3S and University of Hannover)
  • Elisa Bertino, (Purdue University)
  • Kalina Bontcheva, (University of Sheffield)
  • Shawn Bowers, (University of California, Davis)
  • Peter Brusilovsky, (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Rajkumar Buyya, (Universiy of Melbourne)
  • Vasa Curcin, (Imperial College, UK)
  • John Domingue, (Knowledge Media Institute, UK)
  • Erik Duval, (University of Leuven, Belgium)
  • Thomas Fahringer, (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
  • Christoph Freytag, (Humbolt University, Berlin)
  • Michael Gertz, (University of California, Davis)
  • Moustafa Ghanem, (Imperial College)
  • Mark Greenwood, (University of Manchester)
  • Jeffrey Grethe, (University of California, San Diego)
  • Pilar Herrero, (Polytechnic University of Madrid)
  • Andreas Hoheisel, (Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft)
  • Nick Jennings, (University of Southhampton)
  • Rohit Khare, (CommerceNet)
  • Alfred Kobsa, (University of California at Irvine)
  • Rob Koper, (Open University Netherlands)
  • Ulf Leser, (Humbolt University, Berlin)
  • Bob Mann, (Royal Observatory, Edinburgh)
  • Erica Melis, (DFKI)
  • Peter Murray-Rust, (Cambrige University, UK)
  • James Myers, (National Center for Supercomputing Applications)
  • Peter Rice, (European Bioinformatics Institute)
  • Rizos Sakellariou, (University of Manchester, UK)
  • Daniel Schwabe, (PUC Rio)
  • Peter Scott, (Knowledge Media Institute, UK)
  • Amit Sheth, (University of Georgia and Semagix)
  • Matthew Shields, (University of Cardiff, UK)
  • Heinz Stockinger, (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Denise Tolhurst, (University of New South Wales)
  • Ron van Schyndel, (RMIT University)
  • Vincent Wade, (Trinity College Dublin)
  • Limsoon Wong, (Agency for Science, Technology & Research, Singapore)

Organised by

ECS Logo

in association with

BCS Logo ACM Logo

Platinum Sponsors

Sponsor of The CIO Dinner

Become a sponsor or exhibitor
Valid XHTML 1.0! IFIP logo WWW Conference Committee logo Web Consortium logo Valid CSS!